Sunday August 15, 2010
BIRMINGHAM were crowned 2010 Premier League Fours Champions after a thrilling afternoon’s racing at Peterborough’s East of England Showground.

The BRC Roofing Brummies emerged victorious in front of a large Sunday crowd with every one of the four-man team playing their part by winning races at crucial stages.

They took the crown with 25 points in the Grand Final, six clear of Edinburgh’s 19 point tally. Somerset finished third on 15 with Sheffield fourth on 13.

The Brummies had earlier negotiated their semi-final coming out on top with a 14 point total with Sheffield also joining them in the Grand Final. Somerset and Edinburgh progressed from the other semi-final group.

The Final turned out to be a straight shootout between Birmingham and Edinburgh and the two teams were locked together on 11 points after six races had been completed.

Richard Sweetman then tasted victory in heats 8 and 9, which was immediately followed by an Aaron Summers win over Andrew Tully in heat 10. This gave the Brummies a crucial four-point lead over the Monarchs with just two races to go.

The silverware was then confirmed when Steve Johnston passed Kalle Katajisto for third place in the penultimate race.

A delighted Brummies team boss Graham Drury said: “It was a great team effort from all the riders and I’m really proud of all of them.

“It’s great to finally win a trophy this year after going so close in the Premier Trophy and the Premier League Pairs. Our supporters have also been fantastic, they’ve backed us all season and they were right behind us again this afternoon.”

BIRMINGHAM 14: (Jason Lyons 5, Richard Sweetman 4, Aaron Summers 4, Steve Johnston 1)
SHEFFIELD 13: (Ricky Ashworth 5, Josef Franc 4, Richard Hall 3, Simon Lambert 1)
NEWCASTLE 12: (Mark Lemon 6, Kenni Larsen 4, Jason King 2, Rene Bach 0)
BERWICK 9: (Adrian Rymel 4, Lee Complin 2, Michal Makovsky 2, Paul Clews 1)

SOMERSET 15: (Shane Parker 6, Sam Masters 5, Cory Gathercole 2, Ritchie Hawkins 2)
EDINBURGH 14: (Andrew Tully 5, Matt Wethers 4, Kalle Katajisto 2, Ryan Fisher 3)
SCUNTHORPE 14: (Magnus Karlsson 4, Tero Aarnio 4, David Howe 3, Carl Wilkinson 3)
RYE HOUSE 5: (Linus Sundstrom 3, Chris Neath 2, Stefan Ekberg 0, Robbie Kessler 0)

BIRMINGHAM 25: (Jason Lyons 8, Richard Sweetman 6, Aaron Summers 6, Steve Johnston 5)
EDINBURGH 19: (Ryan Fisher 8, Matt Wethers 4, Andrew Tully 4, Kalle Katajisto 3)
SOMERSET 15: (Shane Praker 6, Sam Master 5, Ritchie Hawkins 2, James Holder 2)
SHEFFIELD 13: (Josef Franc 7, Richard Hall 4, Ricky Ashworth 2, Simon Lambert 0)

Photo courtesy of Steve Dixon Photography

Share This:   Facebook Twitter