Wednesday July 28, 2010
BIRMINGHAM had to settle for runners-up spot in the Premier Trophy for the third time in four years as impressive Newcastle secured the silverware at Perry Barr.

The Diamonds, along with Edinburgh are the form team in the division at this stage, and their 22-point first leg advantage was never threatened by the Brummies, who ended up going down to just their second home defeat of the season.

A bumper crowd were hoping for a big Birmingham opening, but skipper Jason Lyons was sent wide on the first bend of Heat 1 and Newcastle capitalised with a 5-1 race advantage to settle any nerves in their camp.

The match on the night was close, with the Brummies never leading but staying in touch thanks to some strong rides by Lyons and Richard Sweetman, whilst Steve Johnston and Lee Smart combined for a 5-1 in Heat 8 to reduce the Diamonds' six-point lead.

The only question as far as the silverware was concerned was when the Diamonds would seal it, and they did so when the very fast Kenni Larsen won Heat 11 to spark celebrations amongst the travelling fans.

They then secured victory on the night when their other talented Danish youngster Rene Bach - who had produced two fine passing moves earlier - took the flag to head up a 4-2 in Heat 14.

Brummies did finish with a flourish with Lyons and Sweetman getting the better of Larsen and Bach in the final race to leave the scores close on the night.

The Final as a whole showed the Brummies the level they need to achieve with several more big matches and trophies to go for, and some good news before the meeting was the signing of promising reserve Kyle Newman as a club asset.

Brummies now return to Premier League action on Thursday at Redcar, where Michal Rajkowski will guest for the injured Chris Kerr.

BIRMINGHAM: Jason Lyons 11+1, Steve Johnston 10+1, Richard Sweetman 10, Lee Smart 6+1, Kyle Newman 4+2, Justin Sedgmen 3+1, Aaron Summers r/r.

NEWCASTLE: Kenni Larsen 12, Rene Bach 11, Mark Lemon 8, Dakota North 6, Derek Sneddon 4+2, Jason King 4+1, Anders Andersen 1+1.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter