Wednesday October 08, 2008
DOUBLE World Champion Jason Crump produced a fabulous Final ride to lift the 2008 Elite League Riders' Championship at Perry Barr.

The biggest crowd since Birmingham's re-launch meeting at the start of last season enjoyed some fine action from the top stars, and a number of late replacements made their mark in the meeting.

Crump, one of the favourites, had the unfavoured outside gate for the crunch race after coming through the semi-final - and he ended up in the fence at the first time of asking after a tough first bend between himself, Rory Schlein and Leigh Adams.

But he picked himself up for the re-run and conjured a masterful move around the opening bends to race clear for victory.

Coventry asset Schlein, who has completed the season with Ipswich, finished second by coming around Kenneth Bjerre on the fourth bend at the end of the first lap.

Bjerre and Adams had topped the scorers from the qualifying races on 13 apiece but were upstaged by the semi-final qualifiers, Schlein and Crump having come through at the expense of Poole duo Chris Holder and Davey Watt.

The level of competition was summed up by the fact that eleven of the sixteen riders won at least one race, and the crowd level and overall interest in the meeting will surely put Perry Barr in the frame to stage other such events in future seasons.

SCORES: Leigh Adams 13, Kenneth Bjerre 13, Jason Crump 12, Chris Holder 11, Rory Schlein 10, Davey Watt 10, Lewis Bridger 8, Niels-Kristian Iversen 7, Daniel King 7, Fredrik Lindgren 6, Jonas Davidsson 5, Troy Batchelor 5, Piotr Swiderski 5, Edward Kennett 4, Billy Janniro 2, Charlie Gjedde 2.

SEMI-FINAL: Schlein, Crump, Holder, Watt.

FINAL: Crump, Schlein, Bjerre, Adams.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter