Saturday September 29, 2018
TEENAGE ace Leon Flint is facing a race against time to be fit for Sunday’s National League Riders’ Championship (1pm).

The 15-year-old sustained soft tissue damage in his knee at Plymouth last week and is 50/50 for the prestigious event at Leicester.

Should he declare himself unfit, reserve Sheldon Davies is the only option remaining for the Edwards Plumbing Brummies with heat-leader James Shanes racing on the continent.

Team boss Laurence Rogers has again bemoaned Birmingham’s bad luck and believes this was initially a great chance to lift some silverware.

“If we’d got a fully fit, available team then I genuinely believe one of our riders would’ve won the NLRC,” Rogers said.

“Mitch Davey, Tom Bacon, Danyon Hume, James Shanes, all of those boys would’ve been one of the favourites and they’d be well fancied to take the title.

“But it doesn’t need me to remind everyone about the amount of bad luck we’ve had at Birmingham this season.

“Even now there are doubts about Leon and despite being the youngest rider in the competition, some would have been tipping him to pull off a top three finish.

“With the way his knee is at the moment, I think most riders would’ve admitted defeat with this one by now – but not Leon.

“I’ve been speaking to him every day this week and he’s determined to do everything he can to represent Birmingham.

“But it really is in the balance right now and he will make a very late decision.

“Personally I think he should rest it, let it heal and not risk causing any additional damage.

“But he is desperate to represent Birmingham in this big riders’ Championship and fair play to the lad.

“If he does have to pull out, Sheldon Davies is on standby. Sheldon is obviously only in the first few months of his speedway career and if he was involved then I’m sure he’d learn plenty from the experience.”

Admission is £16 adults, £8 teenagers (aged 13-18) while kids 12 and under go Free. Gates open at 11.30am and programmes will be available for just £2.50.

2018 TENG TOOLS NATIONAL LEAGUE RIDERS’ CHAMPIONSHIP: Nathan Stoneman (Kent), Tom Woolley (Buxton), Drew Kemp (Mildenhall), Connor Mountain (Coventry), Alfie Bowtell (Isle of Wight), Ryan Kinsley (Mildenhall), Tom Perry (Belle Vue Colts), Jack Thomas (Kent), Leon Flint (Birmingham), Kyle Bickley (Belle Vue Colts), Max Clegg (Stoke), Ben Morley (Isle of Wight), Henry Atkins (Plymouth), Mark Baseby (Eastbourne), Georgie Wood (Eastbourne), Jon Armstrong (Coventry). RES: Ben Woodhull (Belle Vue Colts), Dan Gilkes (Unattached).

Share This:   Facebook Twitter