Tuesday April 17, 2018
BIRMINGHAM are gearing up for an exciting night of action with the British Under-21 Semi-Final heading to Perry Barr on Wednesday (7.30).

Some of the country’s finest young talents will be battling it out with the aim a top seven finish to qualify for next month’s final at Berwick.

The Edwards Plumbing Brummies will have three representatives with Layne Cupitt, Leon Flint and Callum Walker all hoping to make the most of home track advantage.

Former fans’ favourite Jack Smith, who helped Birmingham win the National League in 2015 and 2016, is among the frontrunners for qualification alongside Wolverhampton’s Nathan Greaves as the only top flight rider in the field.

Championship competitors Alfie Bowtell, Kyle Bickley and Jack Thomas will also fancy their chances as will Taylor Hampshire who improved as part of the Brummies’ team last season.

Great Britain Under-21 Team Manager Neil Vatcher insists fans are in for a treat on Wednesday and says the line-up makes it too tough to call when it comes to predicting the qualifiers.

“This is the first time since 2010 that we have had enough quality to host two Semi-Finals, and you can be sure there is plenty of quality about,” Vatcher said.

“If you can select the seven qualifiers beforehand you will be so much better than me, because I believe any of the 16 are capable, which should make it an intriguing contest.

“I genuinely hope a large number of people head to Birmingham to support these youngsters as well as the event itself because these genuinely are stars of the future.

“With almost half the field having Birmingham connections too, hopefully the many home fans will have something extra to cheer!

“It really is something to look forward to and these are certainly exciting times to be involved in British Speedway.”

Children Under 16 will be admitted free of charge while other admission has been set at £12 adults and £11 for concessions and students.

As this is a national event, Birmingham Speedway Season Tickets will not be valid.

Jack Thomas (Glasgow/Kent), Taylor Hampshire (Kent), Leon Flint (Birmingham), Kean Dicken (Belle Vue Colts), Alfie Bowtell (Lakeside), Anders Rowe (Kent), Ben Woodhull (Belle Vue Colts), Kyle Bickley (Belle Vue Colts/Cradley), Callum Walker (Birmingham), Joe Lawlor (Belle Vue Colts), Layne Cupitt (Birmingham), Kelsey Dugard (Eastbourne), Alex Spooner (Kent), Nathan Greaves (Wolverhampton), Bradley Andrews (Plymouth/Cradley), Jack Smith (Sheffield/Belle Vue Colts).

Share This:   Facebook Twitter