Wednesday April 11, 2018
BIRMINGHAM will host the British Under-21 Semi-Final at Perry Barr next Wednesday (April 18, 7.30).

Following the postponement of the initial meeting at Newcastle last weekend, the Edwards Plumbing Brummies applied to become the new staging venue for the event.

And they have now been handed the fixture in a big boost for the club.

Co-promoter David Mason said: “We were feeling a bit deflated after they switched the final from our place to Berwick.

“But when we found out Newcastle were struggling to re-stage the second semi-final, we applied to have it at Perry Barr.

“A few other clubs had gone for it as well, but we were delighted when we received the call to say they wanted us to host it.

“It has lifted our spirits because it hasn’t been an easy few weeks with all the rain-offs.

“But to now be hosting such a great competition, with such an impressive line-up is great for Birmingham Speedway and fingers crossed we’ll see a good number of fans on the terraces cheering on their riders.”

Home trio Layne Cupitt, Leon Flint and Callum Walker are all involved in the line-up as is fans’ favourite Jack Smith who won the league title with the Brummies in 2015 and 2016.

Former Birmingham riders Taylor Hampshire and Kean Dicken are also in the 16 rider line-up.

Wolverhampton racer Nathan Greaves will be among the favourites to qualify while there is more Midlands interest with Kyle Bickley, Bradley Andrews and Joe Lawlor all with Cradley connections.

Children Under 16 will be admitted free of charge while other admission has been set at £12 adults and £11 for concessions and students.

As this is a national event, Birmingham Speedway Season Tickets will not be valid.

Jack Thomas (Glasgow/Kent), Taylor Hampshire (Kent), Leon Flint (Birmingham), Kean Dicken (Belle Vue Colts), Alfie Bowtell (Lakeside), Anders Rowe (Kent), Ben Woodhull (Belle Vue Colts), Kyle Bickley (Belle Vue Colts/Cradley), Callum Walker (Birmingham), Joe Lawlor (Belle Vue Colts), Layne Cupitt (Birmingham), Kelsey Dugard (Eastbourne), Alex Spooner (Kent), Nathan Greaves (Wolverhampton), Bradley Andrews (Plymouth/Cradley), Jack Smith (Sheffield/Belle Vue Colts).

Share This:   Facebook Twitter