Wednesday May 24, 2017
BIRMINGHAM sealed another convincing home win with a 55-35 victory over Buxton to move joint top of the Travel Plus National League.

The Surestop Brummies broke the 50 point barrier for a fourth time in five league meetings thanks to another solid team effort.

Heat-leader trio Jack Parkinson-Blackburn, Liam Carr and Tom Bacon all scored ten points a-piece while captain Darryl Ritchings chipped in with paid double-figures himself.

Layne Cupitt took the chequered flag in two 5-1s in his first ever meeting in the main body of the team and Macauley Leek and Kyle Roberts both enjoyed confidence boosting nights from reserve.

Team boss Graham Drury said: "That's what you call another brilliant whole team performance!

"Right through from 1-7 the lads impressed me and we didn't have one single weak link tonight.

"With Buxton having Max Clegg and Matt Williamson in their line-up, I said in the build-up to the meeting that our lower order could potentially be the difference between the two sides.

"While our heat-leaders were magnificent, I think we do have to pay special praise to Layne, Macauley and Kyle.

"They scored 18 points between the three of them whereas if you take away Buxton's top two riders, they only managed 12 between their other five.

"We're growing as a team meeting by meeting and I couldn't be happier with the lads after tonight.

"They rode their hearts out and in addition they put on a great, entertaining show for the supporters because some of the racing tonight I thought was very good indeed."

Tom Bacon was awarded the Ductair Electrics Ltd Rider of the Night Award, mainly for his determined battles with Clegg and Williamson.

The Surestop Brummies are back in action this Bank Holiday Monday (May 29) when they host the Isle of Wight at Perry Barr at the earlier start time of 3pm.

BIRMINGHAM 55: Jack Parkinson-Blackburn 10+1, Tom Bacon 10, Liam Carr 10, Layne Cupitt 8, Darryl Ritchings 7+3, Macauley Leek 5+1, Kyle Roberts 5+1.

BUXTON 35: Matt Williamson 13, Max Clegg 10+1, Tom Woolley 4, Ben Basford 3, Shelby Rutherford 3, William O’Keefe 2, Carl Basford 0.


Share This:   Facebook Twitter