Wednesday September 14, 2016
BIRMINGHAM ace Jack Smith secured a rostrum place on home shale in the British Under-19 Final at Perry Barr.

The 17-year-old scored 12 points to finish third in a meeting won by Wolverhampton and Cradley racer Max Clegg.

Smith, who was an injury doubt prior to the meeting, produced an impressive, mature performance and described his third place as a major achievement.

Said Smith: "48 hours or so ago, I was laid on the track at Kent after a really bad crash and I've been really struggling since then.

"Today I woke up and didn't feel right, but I've been waiting for this meeting for so long and there was no way I was going to miss it.

"Once I'd made that decision, I was never coming just to make up the numbers, my goal of a top three finish stayed the same.

"I'm so happy to have managed that and it's a great achievement - even more so when I think about how my week had gone up until tonight!

"The Birmingham fans were fantastic and I can't thank them enough - next year it's time to be No. 1 though!"

Fellow Birmingham reserve Jack Parkinson-Blackburn also rode admirably as he scored ten points and can be proud of his efforts after another encouraging night from the 16-year-old.

It was an entertaining evening with some of the countries top youngsters involved in some close battles and Great Britain Under-21 team manager Neil Vatcher was pleased with how the event went.

Said Vatcher: "All 18 riders gave it their all and there were some real positive signs for the future I thought tonight.

"The top three of Max Clegg, Ellis Perks and Jack Smith fully deserved their rostrum places and congratulations to all of them.

"Birmingham were great hosts and I'd like to thank everyone at the club as well as all of the riders for putting on an event which ran so smoothly overall."

Max Clegg 15, Ellis Perks 14, Jack Smith 12, James Shanes 10, Jack Parkinson-Blackburn 10, Layne Cupitt 9, Alfie Bowtell 9, Luke Harris 8, Jack Thomas 7, Ben Basford 6, Nathan Greaves 6, Ryan Kinsley 4, Jamie Halder 3, Taylor Hampshire 2, Joe Lawlor (res) 2, Callum Walker 1, Connor Locke 1, Bradley Andrews (res) 0.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter