Sunday August 19, 2007
BIRMINGHAM continued with their push for a play-off spot with an excellent 48-42 win at Newport.

It was a thrilling contest at the Queensway Meadow with the lead changing hands on more than one occasion. The meeting ebbed and flowed, but the Brummies held out at the end for an important Premier League victory.

Jason Lyons played a captain’s role for Birmingham top-scoring with 13 and recent new signing Henning Bager gave good support with 8 (paid 9). Also Emiliano Sanchez improved after a slow start to score 8 points.

The Brummies got off to the best possible start and found themselves 10-2 up after two races, but the Wasps had a sting in their tail as they came fighting back. First of all they hit back with a 5-1 in heat 4, which was followed up by a 4-2 in heat 5 and then a Michal Rajkowski/ Tom Hedley maximum in heat 6 put Newport into a 19-17 lead.

Birmingham drew level with a 4-2 in heat 7, and then a Manuel Hauzinger and Ben Powell five-pointer in heat 8 restored the Brummies lead at 26-22. Bager and Hauzinger made it 36-30 with a 4-2 in heat 11, and then another four-points in heat 13 from Sanchez and Hauzinger put the Midlanders on the brink of victory leading 43-35 with just two races remaining.

The Wasps did momentarily reduce the deficit with a 5-2 from Tony Atkin and Phil Morris (tactical substitute) in heat 14, which meant that with Birmingham leading 45-40 they needed just a point from the final race to clinch the victory.

In heat 15 Newport’s Chris Schramm retired on the second lap, and then with Lyons leading Hedley, Sanchez clipped the Wasps rider’s back wheel and took a nasty looking tumble. Thankfully, despite being taken from the track by ambulance, Sanchez was afterwards reported to be ok. Referee Dave Robinson declared the race awarded as a Brummies 3-2 as Lyons was leading Hedley when the race was stopped.

NEWPORT: Phil Morris 11+1, Tom Hedley 9+1, Chris Schramm 8+1, Tony Atkin 7+1, Barry Burchatt 4, Michal Rajkowski 3, Nick Simmons 0

BIRMINGHAM: Jason Lyons 13, Henning Bager 8+1, Emiliano Sanchez 8, Maunuel Hauzinger 7, Ben Powell 6+2, Lee Smart 3+2, Henrik Moller 3

Share This:   Facebook Twitter